Skip to content

Cultural Policy

Vision

Hong Kong becomes an international cultural metropolis with a distinct identity grounded in Chinese traditions and enriched by different cultures, where life is celebrated through cultural pursuit; and creativity is a constant driver of progress in the community.

Objectives

  • To provide opportunities for wide participation in culture and the arts
  • To provide opportunities for those with potentials to develop their artistic talents
  • To create an environment conducive to the diversified and balanced development of culture and the arts
  • To support the preservation and promotion of our traditional cultures while encouraging artistic creation and innovation
  • To develop Hong Kong into a prominent hub of cultural exchanges

Basic Principles

People-oriented: To encourage citizens to fulfill their needs for cultural pursuit and to realize their potential in the arts.
Diversity To foster the vibrancy and diversity of our cultures.
Freedom of expression: To maintain our artistic freedom and enhance the protection of intellectual property.
Holistic approach: To involve all sectors of the society in order to create an environment conducive to the vibrant development of culture and the arts. All government departments should work together to promote cultural development.
Partnership: To establish partnership among the Government, the business community and the cultural sector.

Government Funding Support to Culture and the Arts

Recurrent Funding

Total: $3.5 billion (excluding the Arts and Sports Development Fund (Arts Portion) and the Cantonese Opera Development Fund)

In 2014/15, the Government allocates $3.5 billion on culture and the arts, excluding capital works expenditure. The resources were mainly deployed for the provision of venue support for arts activities, funding support to arts groups, arts education and promotion, as well as relevant administrative costs.

Capital Funding

The Government also supports the development of the arts and culture in Hong Kong through the construction and operation of various types of cultural venues, including performance venues, public libraries and public museums.

At present, there are 16 performance venues of varying sizes and capacities situated at accessible locations all over the territory, including the Yau Ma Tei Theatre (a xiqu activity centre) recently opened in July 2012. In addition, the construction of Ko Shan Theatre Annex (at an estimated cost of $683.2 million) is in progress.

The Government also manages 14 public museums, the Hong Kong Film Archive, two heritage centres and the Art Promotion Office. In addition, the Government operates a network of Hong Kong Public Libraries (HKPL) comprising 67 static and 10 mobile libraries. For the enhancement of public library services, works in progress include the reprovisioning of several public libraries and the construction of two new public libraries in Tseung Kwan O and Yuen Chau Kok respectively.

The West Kowloon Cultural District

An upfront endowment of $21.6 billion has been granted to the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority to develop a prime 40-hectare waterfront site into an integrated arts and cultural hub with world-class facilities, the West Kowloon Cultural District (WKCD). The WKCD project is a strategic investment by the Government to meet the long-term infrastructural and development needs of Hong Kong’s arts and culture. It aims to foster the organic growth of cultural industries, and promote Hong Kong’s image as an international metropolis with a vibrant arts and cultural landscape. A mix of arts and cultural facilities would come on stream in three batches starting from 2016.


Back Top

跳至主要內容

文 化 政 策

願 景

香 港 成 為 一 個 國 際 文 化 大 都 會 , 植 根 於 中 國 傳 統 且 融 會 多 元 文 化 。 文 化 藝 術 元 素 豐 富 了 市 民 的 生 活 , 而 創 意 則 是 推 動 社 會 持 續 進 步 的 原 動 力 。

目 標

  • 提 供 廣 泛 參 與 文 化 藝 術 的 機 會
  • 提 供 機 會 讓 有 潛 質 的 人 士 發 展 他 們 的 藝 術 才 華
  • 創 造 一 個 有 利 文 化 藝 術 多 元 及 均 衡 發 展 的 環 境
  • 支 持 保 存 及 弘 揚 我 們 的 傳 統 文 化 , 同 時 鼓 勵 藝 術 創 作 和 創 新
  • 使 香 港 成 為 文 化 交 流 的 重 要 樞 紐

基本原則

以 人 為 本 : 鼓 勵 市 民 參 與 文 化 藝 術 和 發 揮 個 人 在 文 化 藝 術 方 面 的 潛 能 。
多 元 發 展 : 促 進 充 滿 活 力 的 多 元 文 化 發 展 。
尊 重 表 達 自 由 : 尊 重 藝 術 自 由 , 加 強 保 護 知 識 產 權 。
全 方 位 推 動 : 社 會 各 界 共 同 參 與 , 締 造 一 個 有 利 文 化 藝 術 蓬 勃 發 展 的 環 境 。 各 政 府 部 門 攜 手 合 作 , 推 動 藝 術 文 化 發 展 。
建 立 伙 伴 關 係 : 建 立 一 個 由 政 府 、 商 界 及 文 化 界 組 成 的 伙 伴 關 係 。

政 府 對 文 化 藝 術 的 資 助

經 常 撥 款

總 計 : 35 億 元 (不 包 括 藝 術 及 體 育 發 展 基 金 ( 藝 術 部 分 ) 及 粵 劇 發 展 基 金)

2014/15 年 度 , 政 府 在 文 化 藝 術 方 面 的 總 開 支 逾 35 億 元 , 當 中 並 不 包 括 基 本 建 設 工 程 開 支 。 這 些 資 源 主 要 用 於 為 藝 術 活 動 提 供 場 地 支 援 、 資 助 藝 術 團 體 、 藝 術 教 育 和 推 廣 , 以 及 支 付 相 關 的 行 政 費 用 。

工 程 撥 款

政 府 亦 透 過 興 建 及 營 運 各 種 文 化 場 地 ( 包 括 表 演 場 地 、 公 共 圖 書 館 和 公 共 博 物 館 ) 來 支 持 香 港 的 文 化 藝 術 發 展 。

現 時 全 港 有 16 個 不 同 規 模 的 表 演 場 地 , 遍 佈 多 個 交 通 便 利 的 地 點 , 包 括 剛 於 2012 年 7 月 開 幕 的 油 麻 地 戲 院 ( 為 一 所 戲 曲 活 動 中 心 ) 。 此 外 , 我 們 正 在 興 建 高 山 劇 場 新 翼 大 樓 ( 預 計 工 程 費 用 為 6.832 億 元 ) 。

政 府 同 時 管 理 14 所 公 共 博 物 館 、 香 港 電 影 資 料 館 、 兩 所 文 物 中 心 及 藝 術 推 廣 辦 事 處 。 另 外 , 政 府 亦 掌 管 由 67 間 固 定 圖 書 館 和 10 間 流 動 圖 書 館 組 成 的 公 共 圖 書 館 系 統 。 為 加 強 公 共 圖 書 館 服 務 , 政 府 正 推 行 多 項 工 程 , 包 括 重 置 多 個 公 共 圖 書 館 , 以 及 在 將 軍 澳 及 圓 洲 角 興 建 新 的 公 共 圖 書 館 。

西 九 文 化 區

政 府 已 向 西 九 文 化 區 管 理 區 提 供 216 億 元 的 一 筆 過 撥 款,用 以 把 一 幅 40 公 頃 的 優 質 臨 海 地 段 打 造 成 具 備 世 界 級 設 施 的 綜 合 文 化 藝 術 樞 紐 – 西 九 文 化 區 。 西 九 文 化 區 計 劃 是 政 府 為 配 合 香 港 長 遠 的 文 化 藝 術 基 建 及 發 展 需 要 而 作 出 的 一 項 策 略 性 投 資 , 目 標 是 促 進 文 化 產 業 有 機 發 展 , 以 及 凸 顯 香 港 富 有 文 化 藝 術 氣 息 的 國 際 大 都 會 形 象 。 為 配 合 各 種 藝 術 形 式 的 發 展 , 不 同 類 型 的 文 化 藝 術 設 施 將 由 二 零 一 五 年 起 分 階 段 完 成。


回上頁 頁首