Skip to content

Intangible Cultural Heritage

The Government attaches great importance to the safeguarding of intangible cultural heritage (ICH) and strives to raise the Hong Kong community’s awareness of the importance of ICH and the need to protect such heritage as our cultural resource. The Government supports the protection, transmission and promotion of ICH, and encourages the participation of the community in the safeguarding of ICH to ensure the continuing development of our local culture and traditions.

According to the Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage (the Convention) adopted by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), ICH is manifested in the following domains:

(a) oral traditions and expressions, including language as a vehicle of the ICH;
(b) performing arts;
(c) social practices, rituals and festive events;
(d) knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe; and
(e) traditional craftsmanship.

With the Convention came into force in 2006, the Government has taken the following measures to support and safeguard the local ICH :

  • In 2008, an Intangible Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee, comprising local academics, experts and community personalities, was established to advise the Government on the territory-wide survey of ICH and measures to safeguard the ICH, etc;
  • In 2014, the Government promulgated the first ICH inventory of Hong Kong consisting of 480 items (for details of the ICH inventory, please refer to the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD)'s website);
  • At the invitation of the Ministry of Culture, through three applications, the following 10 local items have been inscribed onto the national list of ICH :
  •            
    Year of inscription Item
    2006Cantonese opera* , herbal tea
    2011 Cheung Chau Jiao Festival, Tai O dragon boat water parade, Yu Lan Ghost Festival of the Hong Kong Chiu Chow community, Tai Hang fire dragon dance
    2014Quanzhen temples Taoist ritual music, Arts of the Guqin (the craft of qin making), Hakka unicorn dance in Hang Hau of Sai Kung, Wong Tai Sin belief and customs

    ( * In 2009, Cantonese opera was successfully inscribed onto the UNESCO's Representative List of the ICH of Humanity and has become a world ICH item.)

  • In 2015, the LCSD upgraded the ICH Unit originally under the Hong Kong Heritage Museum to an ICH Office (ICHO) to heighten various endeavours on safeguarding ICH. In 2016, the ICHO made use of the Sam Tung Uk Museum to house the Hong Kong Intangible Cultural Heritage Centre as an exhibition and education centre.
  • In August 2017, the Government announced the first Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Hong Kong (the Representative List), which comprises 20 items (for details of the Representative List, please refer to the LCSD's website).

The Lord Wilson Heritage Trust

Established in 1992 by the Government, the Lord Wilson Heritage Trust aims to promote the conservation of Hong Kong’s heritage. The Trust provides support to the conservation of Hong Kong’s ICH through various means including funding projects of conducting researches, producing publications and educational materials, organizing promotional and educational activities, holding seminars and conferences as well as other types of projects which help preserve or promote Hong Kong’s heritage.

Initiatives to Support the Development of Cantonese Opera

The Government has also been providing active support to the preservation, study, promotion and continuing development of Cantonese opera, which is one of the important forms of Hong Kong’s traditional arts and culture, in the following ways:

(a) developing performance venues for Cantonese opera;
(b) nurturing Cantonese opera professionals, promoting creative works and preserving the traditions;
(c) promoting Cantonese opera education, audience building and community participation; and
(d) preserving the essence of Cantonese opera and showcasing treasures of our cultural heritage.

The Government has set up the Cantonese Opera Advisory Committee to advise the Government on matters relating to the development of Cantonese opera in Hong Kong and established the Cantonese Opera Development Fund to provide funding support to projects and activities relating to the study, promotion and sustainable development of Cantonese opera.


Back Top

跳至主要內容

非物質文化遺產

非物質文化遺產

政府重視保護非物質文化遺產(非遺) ,致力提升社會對非遺的認知及對保護這種文化資源的重視。政府一方面支持非遺的保護、傳承和推廣工作,並且鼓勵社會參與,令香港文化傳統得以保護、延續和發展。

根據聯合國教育、科學及文化組織的《保護非物質文化遺產公約》 ( 《公約》 ) , 「非遺」包括以下幾方面:

自《公約》於2006年生效以來,政府採取了以下的措施去支持及保護本地非遺:

  • 於2008年成立非物質文化遺產諮詢委員會(非遺諮委會),委任本地學者、專家和社區人士為委員,就非遺的普查及保護措施等方面向政府提供意見。
  • 2014年,政府公布了香港首份涵蓋480個本地項目的非遺清單(非遺清單的詳情可參閱康樂及文化事務署(康文署)的網頁 ) ;
  • 應國家文化部邀請,經四次申請,將以下12個本地項目列入國家級非遺代表性項目名錄:
  • ( *粵劇已於2009年被列入聯合國教科文組織的《人類非物質文化遺產代表作名錄》,成為世界級非遺項目。)

  • 2015年,康文署將隸屬於香港文化博物館的「非物質文化遺產組」升格為「非物質文化遺產辦事處」 (非遺辦事處) ,以深化與非遺有關的各方面工作。 2016年,非遺辦事處於三棟屋博物館設立了「香港非物質文化遺產中心」 ,作為展示和教育中心。
  • 2017年8月,政府公布了首份「香港非物質文化遺產代表作名錄」(代表作名錄) ,涵蓋共20個項目(代表作名錄的詳情可參閱康文署的網頁 )。
  • 2018年12月,特區政府撥款三億元以推行「非物質文化遺產資助計劃」,推動社區參與和加強對香港非遺項目各方面的保護工作(詳情可參閱康文署的網頁 )。

衞奕信勳爵文物信託

政府在1992年成立衞奕信勳爵文物信託 ,目的是推動香港文物的保存和保護工作。信託透過多種途徑支持香港非物質文化遺產的保存和保護,包括撥款資助研究、製作刊物及教材、舉行推廣及教育活動、舉辦研討會及會議,以及推行其他有助保存或推廣香港文物的計劃。

支持粵劇發展

粵劇是香港重要的傳統文化藝術之一,政府積極透過以下途徑,支持粵劇的承傳、研究、推廣和持續發展:

政府設立了粵劇發展諮詢委員會 ,就香港粵劇發展的相關事務向政府提供意見,並成立了粵劇發展基金 ,撥款資助有關粵劇研究、推廣及持續發展的計劃和活動。