Skip to Content

Sports Policy

Promoting Sports in the Community

We have been promoting community sports to encourage the public to participate in various types of sports activities and build a sports culture in the community, helping them develop a healthy lifestyle and enhance their overall quality of life.

Promotion of sports in the community accounted for a majority of the Government's recurrent expenditure on sports development. In 2017-18, 86% of our recurrent expenditure on sports development, or $4.2 billion, was allocated to this objective.

The Home Affairs Bureau and other government departments as well as related organisations, including the LCSD, the Department of Health, the Education Bureau, the Sports Federation and Olympic Committee of Hong Kong, China (SF&OC), “national sports associations” (NSAs), district sports associations, other sports organisations and schools provide a wide range of community sports activities at various levels, encouraging people of different backgrounds, age groups, abilities and interests to participate in sports activities regularly, so as to promote the culture of “Sport for All”.

Promotion of Community Sports

The LCSD organises a wide variety of recreation and sports programmes in the 18 districts for different target groups every year to encourage the public to develop the habit of exercising regularly. These activities include community-level activities (such as sports training courses, competitions and recreation activities), the annual Sport for All Day, and the biennial Hong Kong Games, Corporate Games and Masters Games. In the past three years, the LCSD has organised over 110 000 community recreation and sports programmes, attracting patronage of 7.40 million people. In 2018-19, the LCSD will organise some 38 500 programmes for about 2.34 million participants, involving an estimated expenditure of $189 million.

The LCSD organises recreation and sports activities to cater to the needs of people of different age groups, abilities and interests, including the elderly and persons with disabilities. For the fee charging policy, students, the elderly, persons with disabilities and the accompanying carers are eligible for concessionary rate for enrolment in programmes and the use of facilities.

(a) Major Promotion Campaigns

Healthy Exercise for All Campaign

The "Healthy Exercise for All Campaign" is a territory-wide event jointly organised by the LCSD and the Department of Health since April 2000, with the slogan of “Daily exercise keeps us fit. People of all ages can do it”. By organising large-scale promotional programmes and various recreation and sports activities as well as using different promotion channels, the Campaign raises the public's interest in doing exercise, promotes the benefits of regular exercise to health, and encourages the public to build exercise into their daily life and develop a family culture of regular exercise.

Sport for All Day

The "Sport for All Day" has been organised by the LCSD in August every year since 2009 for continuous promotion of community sports. Various recreation and sports programmes are offered at designated venues in the 18 districts, and most of the leisure facilities of the LCSD are open for public use, all free of charge. The “Sports for All Day 2017” attracted participation of more than 230 000 citizens. The “Sports for All Day 2018” was held on 5th August 2018, with Chinese shuttlecock as the focal sport.

(b) Multi-sport Games

Hong Kong Games

The Sports Commission has organised the Hong Kong Games (HKG) biennially since 2007. The HKG is a territory-wide major multi-sport event with the 18 District Councils as participating units. The objectives of the HKG are to provide districts with more opportunities for sports participation, exchanges and co-operation, and to encourage active public participation in sports. Apart from improving sporting standards at the district level, the HKG can also strengthen the public’s sense of belonging to the district they live in and help promote community cohesion through facilitating communication and fostering friendship among the 18 districts. The 7th HKG will be held from April to June 2019.

Masters Games

The Masters Games , organised by the LCSD biennially, offers participants aged 35 or above the opportunity to compete against people of similar age to sustain their interest in sports activities.

Corporate Games

The biennial Corporate Games organised by the LCSD is a major multi-sport event, which aims to encourage the working population to exercise regularly in order to stay healthy and fit to cope with the challenges at work, while promoting team spirit and strengthening a sense of belonging to their organisations through participation in competitions. We also hope that the Games can promote “Sport For All” and build an energetic and healthy community.

District Sports Programmes Funding Scheme

To strengthen the promotion of sports at districts and to encourage wider participation, the Government announced in the 2018-19 Budget an allocation of $100 million to launch the five-year District Sports Programmes Funding Scheme to provide additional resources for the 21 district sports associations in the 18 districts of the territory to organise more sports programmes, thereby building a strong sports culture in the community. The Five-year District Sports Programme Funding Scheme would be launched in 2020.

Sports Subvention Scheme

The LCSD provides subvention to eligible NSAs through the Sports Subvention Scheme to promote and develop the respective sports. The subvented programmes include:

  • overseas and local international events;
  • squad training programmes;
  • development schemes (including sports training programmes, schools sports programmes, local competitions, community sports club project); and
  • training for officials and international sports conferences.

Promotion of School Sports

To foster students’ interest in sports and promote a sports culture in schools, in addition to the existing physical education curriculum, various government departments and organisations have been committed to promoting sports activities in schools and the community. These activities are conducted as extracurricular activities to encourage regular participation of students and increase the amount of activities for enhancement of physical fitness and building an active and healthy lifestyle.

(a) School Sports Programme

The LCSD has implemented the School Sports Programme (SSP) since 2001. The SSP is organised by various NSAs, subvented by the LCSD and co-organised by the Education Bureau, the Chinese University of Hong Kong and the Hong Kong Baptist University. The activities of the SSP are organised in line with schools’ daily schedules to enable students of primary, secondary and special schools to participate in the sports activities during their leisure time in schools. The SSP aims to provide students with more opportunities to participate in sports, encourage students to participate in sports on a regular basis, raise the sport performance standard among students and identify potential student athletes for further training. 90% of schools in the territory have joined the SSP in the 2017/18 school year. The number of participating students exceeds 630 000.

(b) School Sports Promotion Coordinators

School Sports Promotion Coordinators (SSPC) has been rolled out since 2012. It has been now integrated into the Retired Athletes Transformation Scheme of the Home Affairs Bureau and is supported by the LCSD, the Education Bureau and the Hong Kong Sports Institute Limited (HKSI). In the 2018/19 school year, 36 retired athletes are employed as School Sports Promotion Coordinators to help schools promote sports and enhance the level of sports in schools; as well as receive on-the-job training to develop their second career.

(c) Student Athlete Support Scheme

In the 2013/14 school year, the Home Affairs Bureau collaborated with the Hong Kong Schools Sports Federation (HKSSF) and introduced the Pilot Scheme for Student Athlete Support with the objective of helping students with financial needs to develop their potential in sports and pursue their sporting goals. The Scheme was enhanced, regularised and renamed as Student Athlete Support Scheme in the 2016/17 school year. The Scheme subsidises students with financial needs in the purchase of personal sports equipment, transportation costs of attending trainings of the HKSSF and participating in competitions, school squad coaching fees as well as course fees and transportation costs for participating in the Outreach Coaching Programme (school squad training) and Joint School Sports Training Programme of HKSSF sports under the School Sports Programme of the LCSD. Since the launch of the Scheme, the number of participating schools has increased from 363 in the 2013/14 school year to 630 in the 2017/18 school year. About $27 million has been allocated in the past five years and the number of beneficiaries has exceeded 70 000.

(d) Opening up School Facilities for Promotion of Sports Development Scheme

The Home Affairs Bureau and the Education Bureau jointly launched the Opening up School Facilities for Promotion of Sports Development Scheme to encourage schools to open up their facilities to sports organisations for organising sports activities through a provision of additional subsidy. The objectives are to increase the provision of sports facilities, while enhancing the sports culture in schools and encouraging students to develop a healthy sporting habit.

For details, please refer to Education Bureau Circular Memorandum No. 103/2019 on “Opening up School Facilities for Promotion of Sports Development Scheme” (Application for the 2019/20 School Year)”: http://applications.edb.gov.hk/circular/upload/EDBCM/EDBCM19103E.pdf

(e) Schools Sports Competitions

The Hong Kong Schools Sports Federation (HKSSF) is one of the main stakeholders in promoting sporting activities for youth, and is also one of the sports organisations subsidised by the LCSD. Over 95% of the schools in Hong Kong are registered members of the HKSSF. The HKSSF’s work includes organising inter-primary school and inter-secondary school sport competitions, Jing Ying, Inter-port as well as international school sports competitions, covering over 20 sports and providing students athletes a platform for sports competition. The HKSSF also collaborates with the NSAs and establishes a system of athletes training to raise the standard and performance of the student representatives in Inter-port, Asian and World competitions, which is an important element of nurturing young athletes.

Territory-wide Physical Fitness Survey for the Community

Physical fitness is closely related to health condition and physical activity level. Physical fitness of citizens could also reflect their participation in sports which is in turn an important indicator of the effectiveness of our work in promoting sports in the community. To continuously monitor the physical condition of our citizens and identify high risks groups for non-communicable diseases, the Chief Executive proposed in her Policy Agenda 2018 to conduct a territory-wide longitudinal Physical Fitness Survey for the Community in 2019-20 to build a database on physical fitness of the public. This would facilitate the formulation of long-term targets and measures to promote sports in the community, development of healthy lifestyle, as well as prevention and early intervention of diseases through collaboration with relevant bureaux and departments (such as the Education Bureau, the Food and Health Bureau and the Department of Health).

Development of Football in Hong Kong

Since 2015-16, the Home Affairs Bureau has allocated a maximum of $25 million annually to the Hong Kong Football Association (HKFA) for the implementation of the Five-Year Strategic Plan (the Plan) for a time limited period of five years. The funding aims to enhance the HKFA’s administrative and technical capabilities in promoting the development of local football. As at the end of March 2018, the Home Affairs Bureau has totally provided more than $62 million for implementing the Plan.

Since the 2011/12 football season, the Homes Affairs Bureau has implemented the District Football Funding Scheme (DFFS) to provide funding support to 18 district-based teams which aims to help them improve their performance and enhance their governance. The funding can be used to cover the core expenses including coaching, transportation, equipment, administrative staff, etc. The level of funding allocated to each district team is determined by its league position. From the 2018/19 football season onwards, the maximum level of funding allocated to each league division is $1.65 million for Hong Kong Premier League, $0.55 million for the First Division, $0.385 million for the Second Division and $0.33 million for the Third Division respectively. For the 2018/19 football season, the Home Affairs Bureau has earmarked over $10 million for implementing the DFFS.

Promotion of Sports for Persons with Disabilities

The Government attaches great importance to the development of sports for persons with disabilities (PWDs). To enhance the support for participation in sports by PWDs, the HAB commissioned a consultancy study on how to support athletes with disabilities (AWDs) and promote sports participation by PWDs in a more comprehensive manner. Upon completion of the consultancy study in mid-2016, we launched a public consultation. Based on recommendations of the consultancy report and comments received in the public consultation, we developed in collaboration with various stakeholders (including relevant disability NSAs, LCSD, HKSI, etc.) a work plan for taking forward various initiatives in promoting disability sports.

We have been implementing various measures by phases for supporting AWDs and promoting participation in sports by PWDs in accordance with the work plan. One of the key measures is launching a pilot scheme on “Elite Vote Support System for Disability Sports” to provide AWDs with the opportunity of receiving full-time training and additional financial and programme support for elite disability sports. On the promotion of participation in sports by PWDs, the HAB and the LCSD have implemented various initiatives including the following key measures –

  1. launching a dedicated webpage on the LCSD’s website to provide a one stop information platform on recreation and sports programmes for PWDs;
  2. launching priority venue booking arrangements and enhancing ancillary facilities to facilitate participating organisations to organise sports activities suitable for PWDs;
  3. introducing cross-district enrolment arrangements for PWDs to allow them to enrol at any LCSD’s District Leisure Services Offices and 162 Leisure Link Outlets for recreation and sports activities to be held in all 18 districts in the territory;
  4. organising about 70 additional activities especially for PWDs and launching a series of sports training programmes for PWDs in the seven districts with a larger population of PWDs on a pilot basis; launching a series of diversified sports training programmes on a pilot basis for about 430 persons with different types of disabilities; providing about 110 tailor-made programmes for some 5 300 students from special schools; continuing to organise events specifically for PWDs in the Hong Kong Games;
  5. launching outreach recreation and sports programmes at workshops or centres for PWDs with the aim of helping PWDs develop a healthy sporting habit; and
  6. enhancing the training for coaches to strengthen their basic knowledge and practical skills so as to enable them to provide training for PWDs on sports activities in a safe and appropriate manner.

Five-Year Development Programme for Team Sports

The Home Affairs Bureau has implemented the Five-Year Development Programme for Team Sports in January 2018, which covers 8 team sports with team size of 5 or more featuring in the 2018 Asian Games, namely baseball, basketball, handball, hockey, ice hockey, softball, volleyball and water polo. The Programme provides additional funding to the 8 relevant NSAs to formulate and implement training programmes for Hong Kong to compete in the Asian Games. It also provides financial support of $4,000 per month to each of the 200 and more members of the Hong Kong teams. This Programme aims to help enhance the performance of team sports progressively, and increase their chances of attaining elite sports status in future.

The 8 NSAs would receive additional funding ranging from $420,000 to $700,000 or more for each team per year according to the number of team members and performance in the 2018 Asian Games. The training plans, use of funding and the list of Hong Kong team members are available on the respective NSAs’ official websites.

跳至主要內容

體育政策

體育普及化

我們透過推廣社區體育,鼓勵市民參與各式各樣的體育活動,在社區建立熱愛體育的文化,協助他們培養健康生活模式,提升整體生活質素。

政府投放於體育發展的經常開支中,最大部份用於推廣普及體育, 2017-18年度達42億元,佔體育發展整體開支逾86% 。

民政事務局與其他政府部門及相關團體,包括康文署、衞生署、教育局、中國香港體育協會暨奧林匹克委員會(港協暨奧委會) 、體育總會、地區體育會、其他體育團體及學校等,均在社會上各層面為市民提供多元化的社區體育活動,鼓勵不同階層、年齡、能力和興趣的人士恆常參與體育活動,推廣普及體育的文化。

推廣社區體育

康文署每年在全港十八區舉辦多元化康樂體育活動,供不同服務對象參加,以鼓勵市民養成恆常做運動的習慣。這些活動包括社區層面的活動(例如體育訓練課程、比賽和康樂活動) ,每年舉辦的全民運動日,以及每兩年一度的全港運動會、工商機構運動會和先進運動會等。在過去三年,康文署合共舉辦超過11萬項社區康樂體育活動,參與人次達740萬。 2018-19年度,康文署將舉辦約38 500項活動,供約234萬人次參加,預算開支為1.89億元。

康文署舉辦的康體活動切合不同年齡、能力和興趣的人士的需要,包括長者和殘疾人士。而收費政策方面,學生、長者、殘疾人士及每名殘疾人士的同行照料者,均享有活動收費和場地租用優惠。

(a)大型宣傳活動

普及健體運動

康文署與衞生署自2000年4月起,合作推行「普及健體運動」的全民運動,以「日日運動身體好,男女老幼做得到」為宣傳口號。透過舉辦大型推廣節目、各類型康樂體育活動和利用不同的宣傳渠道,提高市民對運動的興趣,宣揚運動對健康的好處,並鼓勵市民把運動融入生活,培養勤做運動的家庭文化。

全民運動日

為在社區持續推廣普及體育,康文署自2009年起,每年8月舉辦「全民運動日」 ,於轄下十八區指定場地舉辦多項免費康體活動,並開放大部分康樂設施,供市民免費使用。 2017年的「全民運動日」共吸引超過23萬名市民參與。 2018年的「全民運動日」於8月5日舉行,以「足毽」為重點推廣體育項目。

(b)綜合運動會

全港運動會

體育委員會自2007年起,每兩年舉辦一屆全港運動會 (港運會) 。這個以十八區區議會為參賽單位的全港性大型綜合運動會的目的是在社區層面提供更多體育參與、交流和合作的機會,鼓勵市民積極參與體育運動,從而提升地區體育水平,增加市民對居住地區的歸屬感;同時促進十八區之間的溝通和友誼,加強社區的凝聚力。第七屆港運會將於2019年4至6月舉行。

先進運動會

康文署每兩年舉辦一次先進運動會 ,旨在讓35歲或以上的人士有機會與年齡相若的對手切磋技術,從中享受運動的樂趣及保持對體育活動的興趣。

工商機構運動會

康文署每兩年為公私營機構員工舉辦一次工商機構運動會 ,旨在鼓勵在職人士恆常運動,鍛鍊體魄,以應付工作上的挑戰,並希望他們透過參與比賽,培養團隊精神及對機構的歸屬感,藉以推廣「普及體育」 ,建設一個充滿活力的健康社區。

地區體育活動資助計劃

為了加強地區體育推廣,鼓勵更多市民參與,政府於2018-19年度《財政預算案》宣布撥款1億元,開展為期五年的「地區體育活動資助計劃」 ,向全港18區的21個地區體育會提供額外資源,舉辦更多體育活動,以助在社區建立熱愛運動的文化。此項為期五年的「地區體育活動資助計劃」將於2020年推出。

體育資助計劃

康文署現時透過「體育資助計劃」為合資格的體育總會提供資助,以推廣及發展有關的體育項目。資助的體育活動包括:

  • 海外及本地國際賽事;
  • 代表隊訓練;
  • 發展計劃(包括體育培訓計劃、學校體育推廣計劃、本地體育比賽、社區體育會計劃) ;
  • 及工作人員訓練和國際體育會議。

推廣學校體育

為培養學生參與運動的興趣和推動學校體育文化,除了透過現有的體育課程外,多個政府部門和團體一直致力在學校及社區推廣體育活動。這些活動多在課餘時間以課外活動方式推行,鼓勵學童恆常參與,提升活動量以增強體能,並建立活躍及健康的生活方式。

(a)學校體育推廣計劃

自2001年起,康文署推行「學校體育推廣計劃」 ,由相關的體育總會主辦,教育局、香港中文大學及香港浸會大學協辦。是項計劃在配合學校的日常運作下進行,讓全港中、小學及特殊學校的學生可參與多元化的體育活動,目的是培養學生對體育的興趣;鼓勵學生持續參與體育活動;提高學生的體育水平;及發掘有運動潛質的學生接受更高水平的訓練。 2017/18學年,全港已有九成學校參與有關計劃,參與的學生人次超過63萬。

(b)學校體育推廣主任

學校體育計劃推廣主任自2012年推出,現時已納入民政事務局的「退役運動員轉型計劃」 ,並獲康文署、教育局和體院支持。 2018/19學年共有36名退役運動員擔任學校體育推廣主任,於學校協助推廣體育,提升學校運動水平;同時以學校作為在職培訓的平台,發展第二事業。

2018/19學年共有36名退役運動員擔任學校體育推廣主任,於36間學校推廣體育,發掘更多具潛質的學生運動員。

(c)學生運動員資助計劃

為了讓有經濟需要的學生可以充分發展體育潛質,透過參與香港學界體育聯會(學體會)舉辦的活動,實踐體育方面的目標,民政事務局與學體會於2013/14學年合作推出「學生運動員資助先導計劃」 ,並優化內容及正名為「學生運動員資助計劃」,於2016/17學年正式推出。是項計劃資助有經濟需要的學生購置個人體育裝備、參加學體會訓練和比賽的交通費用、校隊教練費,以及參與康文署「學校體育推廣計劃」 、學體會體育項目的「外展教練計劃(校隊訓練) 」及「聯校專項訓練計劃」的課程和交通費用。計劃推行至今,參與學校的數目由2013/14學年的363間增至2017/18學年的630間。過去五年的總撥款額約2,700萬元,受惠學生人次超過7萬。

(d)開放學校設施推動體育發展計劃

民政事務局與教育局於2017/18學年起合作推出「開放學校設施推動體育發展計劃」 ,透過為參與的學校提供額外津貼,鼓勵他們開放學校設施予體育團體舉辦體育活動,一方面增加體育設施的供應,另一方面藉以提升學校體育風氣,鼓勵學生養成良好的運動習慣。

詳情請參閱教育局通函第103 /2019號–開放學校設施推動體育發展計劃( 2019/20學年申請): http://applications.edb.gov.hk/circular/upload/EDBCM/EDBCM19103C.pdf

(e)學界體育比賽

學體會是推廣青少年體育活動的其中一個主要持份者,亦是受康文署恆常資助的體育團體之一。全港超過95%學校是學體會會員。學體會的工作包括舉辦全港中、小學校際運動比賽,校際全港精英賽,埠際及國際性體育比賽,涵蓋二十多個體育項目,為學生運動員提供運動競賽的平台。

學體會亦與多個體育總會合作,建立運動員訓練制度,以提升學生運動員代表在全國中學生運動會、埠際及國際等比賽的成績,是培養青少年運動員的重要一環。

全港性社區體質調查

身體健康狀況與體能活動量和體適能水平關係密切。市民的體適能狀況亦可反映其運動參與程度,是評估體育普及化工作成效的重要指標。為了持續監測市民的體質狀況和識別非傳染病健康問題的高危組群,行政長官於2018年施政綱領中提出開展一項全港縱貫性社區體質調查,以建立市民體質數據資料庫。這有助制定推廣體育普及化的長遠目標和方向,以及透過跨局跨部門(包括教育局、食物及衛生局和衛生署等)的協作及早介入預防疾病、促進健康生活或其他處理措施。

發展本地足球

由2015-16年度開始,民政事務局為香港足球總會每年預留最高2,500萬元的有時限撥款,以推行「五年策略計劃」 ,加強香港足球總會在行政和技術方面推動香港足球發展的能力。截至2018年3月底,民政事務局共發放超過6,200萬元推行五年策略計劃。

民政事務局自2011/12球季開始透過「地區足球資助計劃」向18支地區足球隊提供資助,以便提升球隊表現和管治水平。資助金額可用作支付主要費用,包括訓練、交通、設備、行政人員等。每支足球隊獲資助的金額是根據其參與的足球聯賽組別而釐定的。自2018/19球季起,各聯賽組別的最高資助金額分別為165萬(香港超級聯賽)、 55萬(甲組) 、 38.5萬(乙組)及33萬元(丙組)。在2018/19球季,民政事務局已預留超過1,000萬元撥款資助地區足球隊。

推廣殘疾人士體育

政府一直十分注重殘疾人士的體育發展。為了加強支援殘疾人士參與體育活動,民政事務局委託顧問研究如何更全面支援殘疾運動員及推廣殘疾人士參與體育活動。有關顧問研究於2016年中完成,我們隨即進行公眾諮詢。根據顧問報告的建議和公眾諮詢所得的意見,我們與持份者(包括相關殘疾人體育總會、康文署、香港體育學院等)協作訂定具體工作計劃。

我們已按工作計劃分階段落實各項支援殘疾運動員及推廣殘疾人士參與體育活動的措施,其中一項重點措施是推展「殘疾運動項目精英資助先導計劃」 ,為殘疾運動員提供全職訓練機會及向有關精英運動項目提供額外資助。在推廣殘疾人士參與體育活動方面,民政事務局和康文署已推展多項措施,主要包括–

  1. 在康文署網頁內增設為殘疾人士而設的專頁 ,為他們提供一站式有關康體活動和服務的資訊;
  2. 推出場地優先預訂試驗計劃和加強場地配套,以便相關團體舉辦適合殘疾人士參與的體育活動;
  3. 增設跨區報名的安排,以便殘疾人士報名參加全港18區適合他們的康體活動,他們可在各分區康樂事務辦事處及162個設有康體通服務的康體場地報名;
  4. 增辦約70個專為殘疾人士而舉辦的活動,並在7個較多殘疾人士居住的區域推出體育訓練試驗計劃;推出殘疾人士體育訓練試驗計劃,供約430多名不同殘疾類別人士參加;舉辦約110項康體活動予5 300名特殊學校的學生參加;在全港運動會繼續舉辦適合殘疾人士參加的比賽項目;
  5. 在工場及院舍推行康體外展服務,讓殘疾人士將健體習慣融入生活;以及
  6. 推出更全面和更有系統的教練培訓課程,加強教練對殘疾人士的基礎知識和實用技能,以便他們能安全及切合地指導殘疾人士進行體育活動。

隊際運動項目五年發展計劃

民政事務局自2018年1月推出隊際運動項目五年發展計劃,涵蓋2018年亞洲運動會(亞運會)的8項5人或以上隊際運動項目,即棒球、籃球、手球、曲棍球、冰球、壘球、排球和水球,向8個相關體育總會提供額外資助,為香港參戰亞洲運動會制訂和推行培訓計劃,亦為超過200名港隊成員提供每月4,000元財政資助。此計劃的目標是協助隊際運動項目循序漸進地提升成績,以及增加日後晉身精英體育項目的機會。

亞運會隊際項目的8個相關體育總會可獲的額外資助由每隊每年42萬元至70萬元或以上,按有關項目的隊員人數和2018亞運會表現而定。各隊際項目的訓練計劃、資助運用及香港代表隊名單已上載相關體育總會的網頁。